Alice is coming!

This is one of the funniest moments, other than the food fight I’ve already posted previously, that I love. It comes from season 5 episode 16, “Family Connections”. In this episode Harvey is out of town for work and a very much pregnant Mary Beth, who is in the last days of her pregnancy, goes into labour. With the help of Christine, she is able to arrive on time at the hospital to have the baby.

Christine is hysterically funny during all the way from Mary Beth’s home to the hospital. She is nervous, like if the baby would be hers. She’s doing a female caricature of what a first-time dad would be going through the same situation. Please, don’t take me wrong here, I’m not saying she’s a lesbian or that they (Mary Beth and Christine) make a couple. I know a few people ship them as a couple, but I don’t, simply for the reason that I don’t see this happening. I would have nothing against it, if this had happen, but I just don’t take this vibe from them. I do ship other female couples in other series (i.e. Xena and Gabrielle, in Xena:WP, Jane and Maura in Rizzoli & Isles, etc), but with Cagney & Lacey I simply don’t get this kind of feeling. To me, they are just good friends with very much respect, admiration and affection for each other, but nothing beyond that.

One more time we have great performances of the leading duo, specially from Ms. Gless. I had the opportunity to watch some of her comedic renditions and based in what I saw her doing, particularly, in Turnabout (Yeah! I found one episode online, I can’t believe it! I wish I could find all seven of them!) I was just delighted with her timing and natural talent for comedy. My favourite lines in this episode are “OK! So, your horn works! Alright! Try your lights!” when she yells for a driver who is honking at her, stuck in traffic behind her yellow broken corvette, and later on when the truck driver, who gave them a ride to the hospital, wishes Mary Beth to give birth to a baby boy  Christine answers “No, we have two of those! We hope for a girl now!”.

It’s cute to see Christine with Mary Beth in the labour’s room till Harvey arrives, as well as funny to see her nervous and anxious at the waiting room, again doing a caricature of a first-time daddy. The melting heart moment is when we have Mary Beth presenting Christine the new born, Alice Christine Lacey, and letting her know the baby’s middle name was chosen after her. Christine is a Christine and would never let show up all her emotions, but I do catch some softness on her after knowing the baby has her name.

The only critic I have to do, and it’s not about this episode specifically, is the fact that when years later, in the revival movies of the duo, during the menopause years, seems that Christine and Mary Beth other than being separated for a long time due to different work choices, have been also estranged from each other in a personal way too, probably with themselves not seeing each other for a long time. From the way Christine reacts having the baby (middle-) named after her in this episode and in other episodes of the series, we can see she cares about Mary Beth and the baby (in her own way, of course! We’re talking about Christine Cagney here, remember). I just don’t see her in the later years losing all contact with Mary Beth (and Alice Christine, consequently). I know they were not that close, mostly because of the way Christine is about her feelings towards others and vice versa, but unless they had had some really serious issues with each other, I really don’t see this not-talking-or-seeing-for-years thing happening, except, maybe, in case of a fight or something serious (which was not explained in the movies) had happened. I will talk about the transition from the series to the revival movies later on.

Enough for now! Let’s just appreciate and have fun with our preferred female cop duo in NYPD. As always, the credits go to the C&L copyright owner, to its producers, writers, cast, crew (and everyone else linked to this show) and to the person who captured those moments in a video clip and uploaded it on Youtube. Thank you all!

Leave a Reply

